Hampshire Book Award

This year’s Hampshire Book Award was launched on 22nd March by the School Library Service and Test Valley School Library eagerly accepted delivery of the six shortlisted books ready to be digested by Miss Needs and the 12 pupils involved in this year’s event.

The Year 8 judges of the award are: McKenzie Simpson, Elizabeth Amos, Eve Wansboro, Caspar Hawkes, Joseph Lovell, Alexander Davis, Connor Perera, Eleanor Weatherburn, Grace Devey, Ruby Snook, Cerys Hotchkiss and James Ashley.

They were all very excited to get started so began reading straight away. The group will meet every two weeks to discuss the stories and record their thoughts and feelings about what they have been reading with a view to finally picking the winner between them. The winning author will be announced in July after hundreds of participating pupils submit their votes at the end of the regional discussion day on 4th July. So watch this space for news on the winning book!